The hide / show view option allows story owners and admins to decide which views are visible to others who look at your story. This visibility feature allows you to simplify the navigation for users without having to delete any views from your story. 


There are several reasons to configure the visibility settings for your views: 

  • Reduce clutter 
  • SharpCloud allows users with owner/admin permissions to create, modify and save views with ease. This flexibility is great for allowing you to try out different views that give new perspectives on your story data. However, whilst these views may be useful to you (and others who are familiar with SharpCloud and how to navigate it) you should consider hiding all but a few views before you share the story with new users. 
  • Simplify navigation

Whilst moving between views using the view strip is straightforward enough, the annotation and click-event capabilities in SharpCloud allow you to create custom portals and navigation that give a more appropriate and tailored way for groups of users to access the views that matter most to them. 

So, by hiding views, and providing links to them from a main portal view, you can bring new users into your story in the most effective way. 

 

How do the visibility settings work? 


Any views that you hide are no longer visible to anyone when the story is opened, and users with View or Edit permissions cannot access the hidden views at all from the view strip. 


Hiding views does not necessarily prevent other users from getting to them. For example, users with Owner/Admin permissions to the story can temporarily re-display the hidden views in the view strip, so always have access to the full set of story views. 


Also, there are other ways of users navigating to a view, even if it is hiddenIf a user clicks on an annotation that has a click-event pointing to the hidden view, the view will be displayedThe same is true if the URL for a hidden view is shared with someone directly.  

 

Editing the visibility settings 


  1. Open the View strip on the left of your story 
  2. Click the blue Eye icon at the top of the screen 
    1. This displays the eye icon next to each view indicating its current visibility status 
    2. By default, all views have their visibility set to on (indicated by a blue eye)
  3. Toggle the eye icon adjacent to any view’s name to hide / show it 
  4. Once you have finished making your choices, click the Eye icon at the top of the panel and the view strip will update to exclude any views you have hidden.  

This now represents the list of views that people who access your story will see by default.