The hide / show view option allows story owners and admins to decide which views are visible to others who look at your story.
This simple feature allows you to simplify the navigation for users without having to delete any views from your story.
How it works
Any views that you hide will no longer be visible to people with View or Edit permissions to your story.
By default the hidden views will also be hidden from people with Admin permissions (including the Story owner) but users with this level of permission can access the views by using the show / hide button on the View panel.
Hiding views does not necessarily prevent other users from getting to them. For example, if a user with access to your story clicks on an annotation that navigates to the hidden view, the view will be displayed to them as normal (even though there will be no corresponding icon for the view on the view strip). The same is true if the URL for a hidden view is shared with someone directly.
To choose which views to show / hide.
- Open the View strip on the left of your story
- Click the blue Eye icon at the top of the screen
- This will present a similar icon next to each view
- By default all views in your story will be set to ‘show’, indicated by a blue eye
- Toggle the eye icon adjacent to any view’s name to hide / show it
- Once you have finished making your choices, click the Eye icon at the top of the panel and the view strip will update to exclude any views you have hidden.
This now represents the list of views that people who access your story will see by default.